Charles Wadsworth Piano Competition

The Charles Wadsworth Piano Competition would not be possible without the incredible generosity of The Blackwell Trust

April 23-25, 2018

The inaugural Charles Wadsworth Piano Competition was held at the Donald W. Nixon Centre for Performing and Visual Arts in Newnan, GA,  April 23-25, 2018. The Competition gave eight of the world’s finest young pianists an opportunity for artistic and entrepreneurial growth. While many music competitions focus solely on the pianistic merits of the competitors, today’s developing market demands a more diverse set of skills for an outstanding career. The Charles Wadsworth Piano Competition encouraged these skills by providing the competitors with the opportunity to showcase their skills in creative programming, chamber music performance, and traditional solo recital repertoire.


The Competition consisted of three rounds. The first, a preliminary round, conducted by video submission, and adjudicated by pianists Ieva Jokubaviciute, Julio Elizalde, and Susan Wadsworth. Eight semi-finalists were accepted based on their video submissions, resumes, and letters of recommendation. The semi-finalists travelled to Newnan, GA for the semi-final and final rounds, which were adjudicated by an esteemed group of jurors including Anne-Marie McDermott, Pedja Muzijevic, and Jeffrey Swann.


Semi-finalists performed a 40-50 minute program of their choosing, featuring at least one work written after 1985. They also played a recital featuring one solo sonata of Mozart, Haydn, or Beethoven (Op. 23 or earlier), and a Beethoven violin or cello sonata alongside a member of the award-winning Aeolus Quartet. The three finalists performed a Romantic-era concert piece of their choosing, as well as a piano quintet in collaboration with the Aeolus Quartet.


The finalists competed for the three top prizes of $15,000, $7,500, and $5,000. The five semi-finalists who did not advance to the final round received a cash award of $1,000, and all eight competitors were considered for the Contemporary Music Award, Chamber Music Award, and The Charles Wadsworth Award, each valued at $1,000. All travel expenses incurred by competitors were reimbursed by the Competition.

Special thanks to the following people and organizations for their support: The Blackwell Trust, Susan Wadsworth, Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, and the Donald W. Nixon Centre for the Performing and Visual Arts.